FTP Accounts (Manage Accounts)

An FTP account creates a folder on the public_html level of your site that allows external users that know the password to upload and download files from that location.

Change your password if you think that your account is being used incorrectly.

Note: Please be aware that all users with the correct password will be able to add, edit, and delete files from the directory that you specify for the FTP account, and any directories within the stated directory.

To add an FTP account:

  1. Click on the Manage Accounts link in the FTP Settings area.

  2. Click on the FTP Accounts button button.

  3. Click on the Add Account link.

  4. Enter the name of the FTP account in the Login field and the password for the account in the Password field.

  5. Enter the path to the directory to which this FTP account has access.

    Warning: If you enter the top-level of the web site by entering a slash (/), all users with the correct password will be able to add, edit, and delete all files on your site. It is advisable to limit an FTP account to a smaller section of your web site.

  6. Click on the Create button button.

Adding an FTP account

Changing the password on an FTP account

It is a good idea to regularly change your password. You should always change your password if you think someone else has access to your FTP account.

To change a password on an FTP account:

  1. Click on the FTP Manager link in the Account Settings area.

  2. Click on the FTP Accounts button button.

  3. Click on the Change Passwordbutton.

  4. Enter the new password in the New Password field.

  5. Click on the Change button button.

Changing the password on an FTP account

Deleting an FTP account

Deleting an FTP account is as simple as creating as creating the account. Deleting the account does not delete the folder or its contents, but it does prevent anyone from accessing that folder through FTP.

To delete an FTP account:

  1. Click on the FTP Manager link in the Account Settings area.

  2. Click on the FTP Accounts button button.

  3. Click on the Deletebutton.